24 Hour Read-a-thon – Book Choices

1 Apr

So odds are good that I’m going to actually be able to “attend” Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon this year after finding out about it 3 years ago and never being able to join in. That said, I’m a bit excited! My friend Ann has participated the last three years and always told me how much fun it was. So last night after talking on the phone to her for a long while I started picking out books… and more books… and more books to possibly read that day. (Yes, Craig is already laughing at me for getting prepared this early) Unfortunately, I know there’s no way in heck that I can read all of these, BUT I like to have choices and also variety. I’ve picked out books that I think will be fast-ish reads and/or won’t bore me (hopefully). I also did NOT include any books that I’ll feel the need to submit a review for to the book site I review for as I don’t want to add to my already toppling tower of books that I’ve read and that are waiting for me to write up the review. Most of the books are on my e-reader/cell so that I don’t have to transport a ton of books over to Craig’s house since we’ll be doing the Read-a-thon together from there. So… with that being said, here’s my list of options for the Read-a-thon. Of course, I’ve still got a week so I may think of some other stuff. *GRIN*

IN PROCESS SERIES:
Soul Screamers #4: My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent
Love Story #3: Bite Me by Christopher Moore
Blood Coven #4: Bad Blood by Mary Mancusi
Blood Coven #5: Night School by Mary Mancusi
The Channel #5: Passionate Pleasures by Bertrice Small
Sookie Stakehouse #10: Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris
Broken Heart, Oklahoma #5: Over My Dead Body by Michele Bardsley
Broken Heart, Oklahoma #6: Come Hell or High Water by Michele Bardsley

NEW SERIES:
Living With the Dead #1-2 by Jesse Petersen
Naked Werewolf #1 by Molly Harper
Jane Jameson #1-3 by Molly Harper
Ophelia and Abby Mysteries #1-5 by Shirley Damsgaard
Vampire Queen #1-6 by Joey W. Hill
Wizards of Nevermore #1 by Michele Bardsley

STAND ALONES:
Me, Myself and Why by MaryJanice Davidson
Teratologist by Edward Lee & Wrath James White
The Third House by Andy Deane
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town by Wrath James White

SHORT STORY COLLECTIONS:
Heaveworld by Cullen Bunn
Blood Lite by Various Authors
Blood Lite II: Overbite by Various Authors

COMIC COLLECTIONS:
Jack of Fables #3-6
Fables #13-14
Buffy Omnibus #3-4

MANGA:
TBD

IF ALL ELSE FAILS, RE-READ:
Jeff Strand Novels (they always make me laugh)
Harry Potter Series (wanting to re-read before the final movie comes out this summer)

What is everyone else reading that is doing the marathon this year?  How are you going about preparing?  Any tips for a first-time on how to keep up with reading/blogging/challenges/breaks/sleeping/etc…???

5 Responses to “24 Hour Read-a-thon – Book Choices”

  1. Shaunesay April 1, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Yay! Glad to see you joining us! And Craig too? I already picked out a stack as well, and who knows if I’ll even choose those when it’s time, it’s all about what you’re in the mood for!

  2. sanddanz April 1, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    That’s why I picked so many different types of books. Plus I have other stuff stored on my e-reader/phone of course. 🙂 Really looking forward to this. Any tips for a first-timer Mel?

  3. Tracy April 3, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    I have 14 books on my TBR pile, so will have to start on those. I may make a trip to the library for some quick reads in case I start to feel a bit bogged down.

  4. sanddanz April 3, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Looks like you read the hefty fantasy novels Tracy so yeah, you might want to grab up some lighter stuff to have on hand. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Read-a-thon: Revised Book Choices « Learning Japanese? I really think so! - April 6, 2011

    […] but at least this list stands a better chance.  I shall try to post a picture of the books listed below on Friday, however a few I only have in e-book format (noted with **) so they won’t be […]

Leave a Reply

