Read-a-thon Preparations Continue

4 Apr

So it’s Monday and instead of thinking about work, I’m thinking about this upcoming Saturday’s read-a-thon.  As I stated in my last post, I already have more than enough books pulled though I’m still thinking of more possibilities.  (never too many books, right?  *grin*)  In the meantime, I’ve been randomly clicking on some of the other participants blogs to choose a few to follow.  I know I won’t be able to visit everyone throughout the marathon, so I’ve compiled a folder in my Google Reader for those blogs I’m definitely going to try popping by.  Like I said, most picks are at random as I clicked here and there on links and then from those picked about 10 or so that seemed of interest based on similar taste in books or something else on the page that caught my eye.  Additionally, I have several people that I know in “real life” and/or via the web that I’ll be following.  If you’re looking for suggestions, some of my friend’s blogs are:

I have some other friends that have said on Facebook that they’re planning on doing the read-a-thon, but have yet to actually sign up over at http://24hourreadathon.com/2011/03/02/its-sign-up-time/.  To those, don’t forget to sign-up officially so that others will see the link to wherever you are posting updates and can come visit and cheer you on. (whether it be on a personal blog, facebook, twitter, etc…)   And to anyone else that might be interested, be sure to do the same.  There is still plenty of time.  This is my first time but I think it’s going to be a ton of fun based on what my friends have told me that have participated in the past.

Craig & I will be doing the marathon together at his house.  This past weekend we discussed a bit about what to do about eating and such.  I think the final plan is:

  • Breakfast – just something quick, eggs, pancakes, or cereal… whatever sounds good at the time
  • Lunch – Pizza from Old Chicago (carry-out)… the restaurant is like 5 minutes away
  • Dinner – Burritos (I’m going to make them for dinner the night before and I always make plenty for leftovers.)
  • Late Night Snack – if we get the munchies during the night we know that nearby we have a few 24 hour and/or late night restaurants:  Steak ‘n’ Shake, Waffle House, IHOP, Taco Bell, Burger King.  All of these are within 5-10 minutes of his house. 

As for getting tired… we’ll probably take naps throughout the day, but not necessarily at the same times.  That’ll just depend on how the day goes and how each of us is feeling. 

Any other tips/suggestions for the first-timer?  I’d love some input.

3 Responses to “Read-a-thon Preparations Continue”

  1. midnightbookgirl April 4, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Suggestions for a first time Readathoner? I always start with a book that’s short (like a YA) and then I keep some graphic novels, a favorite old children’s book (last time I read a James Howe Bunnicula book, this time I have one on audio to go), and an audio book or two. I spend a lot of Readathon visiting other sites, and I’ve cheerleaded the last few ones and had a blast. I try to listen to the audio books during the time that I’m doing challenges (or hosting them) and or during the hours and hours I like to spend on Twitter. Overall have fun! Don’t get down on yourself if you don’t read as much as you planned to, and remember it’s okay to take a nap if you’re starting to fade. Just follow the #readathon on twitter and you’ll always know what’s going on!

  2. Shaunesay April 7, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Yep, I agree with midnightbookgirl, this is my third time, and my first time as a cheerleader. I think I’ve made it more stressful on myself by trying to be more organized, I just ended up making it more complicated! I’m going to try blogging less, and reading more, and not worrying about having a specific blog “template” to update. I’m going freestyle this time! We’ll see if I can do it. 😉

  3. sanddanz April 7, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    I plan on focusing mostly on reading, but will try to blog here and there and visit the few blogs I’ve added to my Google Reader feed. Doubtful I’ll mess with challenges, but we’ll see. Just want to get in some quality reading time and have fun seeing others do so as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

