The Night Before Readathon

8 Apr

Being my first readathon I have been trying to get my ducks in a row so to speak and have everything ready to go for the day.  I’m probably over prepared in some ways and under prepared in others.  I have 40+ books sitting next to my main reading spot at my boyfriend’s house waiting for me to dive into, though I know I’ll be lucky to even finish ten.  While typing this post I’m debating which book to start with first.  I am usually not a morning reader as I’m either sleeping or at work at 8am so I’m not sure what kind of book will tickle my fancy that early in the morning.

I’m also sitting here thinking about preparing myself a margarita or two in order to help myself sleep better tonight in order to hopefully stay awake longer during the readathon timeframe.

Additionally…

Craig & I have snacks and food planned out basically for the day.

I have both my cellphone and e-reader on the chargers to be fully charged up come 8:00.

I have a notepad and pen to take notes with throughout if I don’t want to always hop on the laptop right away.

And I have all of my tabs open in Chrome to keep everything up-to-date and keep tabs on everyone else participating (or at least as much as I can.)  That includes:

  • Gmail (for comment notifications)
  • Google Reader (for keeping up with the blogs I’ve marked to try hitting)
  • Facebook (set to the feeds from people that I know are participating and that are on my friend list)
  • Twitter (set to the amazing list notarevolution created of all participants)
  • GoodReads (set to my shelf that I temporarily put books I’m considering for the read-a-thon)
  • Farmville (Wait!  How’d that get in there?  Oh… well… I can’t let my brand new New England crops wither while I read can I?)
  • And of course… this blog!  🙂

Now that I’m about done with this post I suppose I should make that decision of first reads, so… let’s go with a bit of bizarro!

 

With the first hard decision made… off to make those margaritas!

What book are you starting off with?  What other preparations are you making?

10 Responses to “The Night Before Readathon”

  1. Kate- Midnight Book Girl April 8, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Now that is a freaky book cover! Sounds like you’re all ready for Readathon! I can’t wait, it’s always a bit like Christmas Eve.

  2. Merisa (nvangel) April 8, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I’m going to finish A Bite to Remember by Lynsay Sands.

  3. sanddanz April 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Kate – I agree… it feels like Christmas! *grin* I’m so excited and ready to jump out of bed first thing in the morning. Normally I want to sleep until noon. HAHA!

    Merisa – I’ve yet to start that series… any good?

    • Merisa (nvangel) April 8, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      I like it. this is my second time to read it.

  4. Colleen (Books in the City) April 8, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    wow – you are definitely prepared! I am sure you will have a great Read a Thon! I am hosting in the wee hours (starting at midnight) – hope to see you out there then!

  5. April (Good Books & Wine) April 8, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    You are going to kick butt in the Readathon! To prepare, I just bought a TON of food, have my stack, tweetdeck, and everything charged up. I should make a playlist while I am at it.

  6. Ann (Noumena12) April 8, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    OMG! I’m just counting on John to feed me and if not I can live on pizza delivery for 24 hours.

  7. sanddanz April 8, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    We’ll be eating pizza one meal tomorrow as well, but running down the street to pick it up instead of paying a silly delivery fee. (of course, he will be driving so I can continue reading… hee hee)

  8. Helena Sparrow April 8, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Hey ya! Sounds like you are prepared…way more than I am. I still need to get my mini challenge post set up for tomorrow! Good luck 🙂

  9. Michelle M April 9, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Go Sand! I’m up and checking in on all my read a thon friends. I’ll be back throughout the day to check in and cheer you on. Sounds like you have a plan.

Leave a Reply

