9.5 hours down, 14.5 to go!

9 Apr

9.5 hours into the read-a-thon and I’ve now completed 3 books… yay!

Completed:

Grape City by Kevin L. Donihe – 105 pages

The Faggiest Vampire by Carlton Mellick III – 99 pages

Emily the Strange #1 – 152 pages

In Process:

Me, Myself, and Why? by MaryJanice Davidson – page 150 of 302

Heaveworld by Cullen Bunn – page 19 of 85

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – page 43 of 384

Total Pages Read so far:

568

Boyfriend is napping and I’m not sure exactly what his stats are.  I know he’s finished two books at least and is in the middle of another one or two.  I may take a cat nap in a bit but will probably wait until after dinner if I can.  We’re supposed to be picking up pizza I believe, though that could change.

I did enter one challenge earlier after having said I probably wouldn’t bother with them.  I was just skimming blogs and found one that was a quick answer.  Haven’t looked back to see who all entered or if a winner has been announced though.  I’m still feeling a little overwhelmed with so many things to try to keep up with.  Having a great time though and enjoying knocking out several books on Mt. TBR!  Hopefully I’ll be free for the next read-a-thon, but October is a busy month so too early to tell now.  S’pose I should also wait and see how I finish this one out and how I recover from it.  LOL!

Okay… back to the books!

 

10 Responses to “9.5 hours down, 14.5 to go!”

  1. Belle Wong April 9, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Way to go! Happy reading!

  2. Shaunesay April 9, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    You’re doing great! It’s important that you enjoy it, so don’t stress about trying to keep up with things, just do what you’re in the mood to. I know exactly what you mean, and that’s why I backed off some this year. There’s so much to do that all of those sidelines can take up all your time and it’s hard to find the right balance! lol! See ya later!

  3. Shanyn April 9, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I tried to get my husband to read today but he wouldn’t have it LOL. He does like to read, but only on his schedule and today he’s not feeling it I guess.

    Great job finishing 3 books!

  4. Craig H. Rettig April 9, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    I think I’m around 400 pages total, but I’ve been taking more breaks and such.

    I don’t think I’ll be able to make it all the way to the 24-hour mark, though. (I’m more like Shanyn’s husband, I think.) I may have to convert over to cheerleader before too long here.

  5. noumena12 April 9, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    So are you having fun? I’ve been enjoying reading everyones posts and reading. I love reading at the same time as other people who enjoy reading as much.

  6. sanddanz April 9, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Thanks Bella & Mel! 🙂

    Shanyn – as Craig just said, yeah… not everyone wants to do it or can do it the full time. I honestly am holding up better than I thought I would. I did get really tired earlier, but think I have my second wind now. I may still end up taking a nap at some point though.

    Ann – Having a great time! Wish I could read faster, but I’m doing pretty good even still. I am switching between books to help keep from getting tired though. 🙂

  7. Elsi April 9, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Yes! You’re doing great. Keep on reading.

    I’m quite a few pages behind you, due somewhat to the distractions when my son and his family showed up around 11:30 and visited for a while before going to lunch with us. I probably should have picked a couple of very short books to read so that I could show off a couple of “books finished”.

  8. Michelle M April 9, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    sounds like you’re doing great. I think the main thing is to have fun and enjoy yourself.

    Keep on Reading

  9. M (@notarevolution) April 9, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Happy Readathoning! You’re doing fantastic!! 🙂 *\o/* *\o/*

  10. Shaunesay April 9, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Heehee! Look who showed up on my Cheerleading list, so even though I’ve cheered on this post already, I’m going to do it again! Both you and Craig, so as I told him, you two can now make fun of my cheesy poem that I did for today! I’m actually quite proud of it though, so be nice! 😉

    You’re doing great! Keep it up! So glad you could join us today and hope you’re having fun!

    Cover to Cover
    And Coast to Coast
    Across the Oceans
    We’ve been brought together
    By what we love the most!
    Let’s hear it for the readers!

Leave a Reply

