Readathon Final Results

10 Apr

Now that Dewey’s 24-Readathon I’m slowly trying to recover.  I started reading yesterday at 8:00am and continued reading until about 4:30am today.  Yeah, I didn’t quit make it 24 hours.  If I had really wanted to push myself at that point I probably could’ve made it, but I figured I was probably already pushing myself on getting a migraine after the fact staying awake as long as I did.   Maybe next time I’ll take a longer nap or two naps throughout the day instead of just the 30 minutes this time around in order to stay up till the end.  I was a “readathon virgin” until yesterday so I am content with the length of time I stayed awake this time around.  That being said, I had a great time doing it and DO plan on participating again, though don’t know if my schedule will allow it.  Just have to wait and see when the dates arrive what things looks like.  It took me three years to find time this first time around.  🙂

Now… for the final stats of my readathon:

Completed:

Grape City by Kevin L. Donihe – 105 pages

The Faggiest Vampire by Carlton Mellick III – 99 pages

Emily the Strange #1 – 152 pages

Me, Myself, and Why? by MaryJanice Davidson – 302 pages

Heaveworld by Cullen Bunn – 85 pages

Peepo Choo Vol. 1 by Felipe Smith – 256 pages

Partially read:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – page 169 of 384

Total Pages Read:

1168

In the end that gave me an average of 54 pages/minute, though of course comics/manga probably swayed the page count a little.  That’s what they were in for though and they also helped me reach the 1000+ page count mark.  🙂  I didn’t meet the goals of my previous post, but realized they were going to be unrealistic anyway based on my pages/hour.  That first Harry Potter book is actually longer than I remembered.  I was enjoying reading it though since it had been a while.  I am hoping to re-read the full series between now and July when the final movie comes out.

I hope everyone else has as much fun as I did yesterday and that you all met your own personal goals.

Now… I’m debating whether my eyes can handle a bit of reading this morning… errr… afternoon or not.  Maybe I’ll take another snooze a little later.  *grin*

4 Responses to “Readathon Final Results”

  1. noumena12 April 10, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Glad you enjoyed your first Readathon!!! I will NOT be reading any more today…looks like I’ll be working on list of things John wants to do today. What a good wife I am. 🙂

    • sanddanz April 10, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Ann… I believe yesterday that John was quite the good hubby too. 🙂

  2. Elsi April 10, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Congratulations. Your total minutes and pages are impressive. I wound up taking a 4 hour nap between 1:30 and 5:30 this morning. I had hoped to stay awake for the entire 24 hours, but it wasn’t to be. Shall we do this again in six months?

    • sanddanz April 10, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks Elsi! Hopefully I can do the October readathon but October is a busy month so will have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

