Short Story #2 – The Disquieting Muse by Kathe Koja

2 Jan

Kathe Koja is another that has been recommended to me over the years, but I hadn’t picked up before now.  I must say, if the writing style of this story is a good example of her writing, I don’t think it’s my cup of tea.  The first half of the story I wasn’t really enjoying at all.  It got a bit more interesting in the second half, but the ending left me wondering how it could’ve fallen so flat.  Based on the recommendations, however, I shall give this author another try, but so far I’m not finding her style to my liking.  I s’pose I can’t like everyone though.  🙂

4 Responses to “Short Story #2 – The Disquieting Muse by Kathe Koja”

  1. Craig Rettig January 2, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    I read “Strange Angels” by her about 10–15 years ago and didn’t care for it at all. Haven’t touched anything by her since.

    • J. Daniel Stone January 8, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

      Koja is a goddess of the written word. If you don’t enjoy James Joyce, William S. Burroughs or Anthony Burgess, then you won’t like Koja’s work.

      The Disquieting Muse is actually a beautiful tale in my opinion.

      What kind of authors do you read?

  2. sanddanz January 8, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Not sure if you were directing this question directly at Craig or myself, but I’ll chime in with a few of my favorite authors anyway.

    My two favorite sub-genres of horror are erotic and comedic. That being said, when it comes to comedic horror Jeff Strand is by far king. As for erotic horror, John Everson, Ray Garton, & Tim Waggoner are two of my faves, though Waggoner has since switched to writing more urban fantasy which is also very good. I could go on and on naming authors, but to name a few random other horror authors… Wrath James White, Gregory Lamberson, & Lisa Morton are first popping into mind.

    I guess I’m more a fan of the newer authors, whereas the ones you mentioned are more dated. Nothing wrong with that at all though as well have different tastes/interests. If we all liked the same thing a LOT of authors would be out of work and we’d be unfortunate to most likely be limited to reading Dean Koontz & Stephen King for the rest of time. But that’s another discussion all together and I shouldn’t get on that soapbox this late at night. LOL!

    Cheers & thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    • J. Daniel Stone January 9, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      Thanks for the response !

      I agree with everything you said about taste and whatnot. And yes, it would be TOO unfortunate to be stuck reading Koontz and King for all eternity. I’d kill myself to be exact as those guys are NOT for me.

Leave a Reply

