Wicked Winter Read-a-thon – Feb. 3 – 5

3 Feb

Saw where my friend Shaunesay was doing yet ANOTHER Read-a-thon this weekend.  I swear that girl finds one for almost every weekend.  LOL!  At any rate, I decided to try to give it a go.  I’m sure I won’t be devoting all weekend to it, but I will post when I can and read what I can around doing other things that are going on this weekend.

To start things off, I was currently in the middle of two books when this day had started:  Peter Straub’s GHOST STORY  (at the halfway mark) and an anthology edited by Jack Burton titled STEAMY SCREAMS (about 1/3 of the way through).

Today I ended up starting another book however, A HOLLOW CUBE IS A LONELY SPACE by Jack Burton.  I also read a short children’s picture book by Scott Nicholson called IDA CLAIRE and posted a review on Amazon.  Please note that if you go today you an check this Kindle book out for FREE!!!  I’ll paste it here as well:

“Fabulous kid’s picture book by mystery/horror author Scott Nicholson. This story, however, is not a scary tale, but rather a cute poetic story about a father and daughter. The rhymes within this book are both clever and cute and show the love the father has for his daughter Ida. Both the poetic rhythm of this short tale and the colorful artwork by Lee Davis will have kids wanting their parents to read this book over and over again!”

I chose to read & review IDA CLAIRE as part of Scott Nicholson’s amazing Kindle Fire giveaway he has going on.  I had been wanting to read something of his for a while now anyway, so that gave me an excuse.  Of course, I still want to read something of more note by him.  This was just a cute little kid’s tale and I have a feeling his horror books are going to be amazing.  Maybe I’ll get into some of his other shorter fiction this weekend as well!

I doubt that I’ll get to finish any of these books today, but I’ve obviously got a dent going in them all now and hope to at least knock out the two short story collections this weekend, make more progress in GHOST STORY, and possibly read some other stuff as well.

I’ll post more as I can.

Thanks to the person(s) running this Read-a-thon for putting it together and thanks to Shaunesay for pimping it so that I could find another thing to keep my already busy life busy this weekend.  🙂

One Response to “Wicked Winter Read-a-thon – Feb. 3 – 5”

  1. Shaunesay February 3, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    Muahahahaha!!!! Roping you into addictive things… just another service I offer… and you thought it only applied to Neopets… ;P

Leave a Reply

