Movie Review: John Carter

7 Mar

Was given the chance to go check out the Sneak Peek of the new Disney movie, John Carter, tonight thanks to a co-worker of mine.  Craig and my friend Wendy also went with.  I think the consensus from all three of us was that it was a very fun movie!

The pre-movie awesomeness was seeing the Avengers trailer in all its glorious 3D.  It was all I could do to contain myself having Thor, Chris Hemsworth almost falling out the screen at me.  I was SO ready to catch him!  *grin*

I’ll try to make a few comments (spoiler free) on my thoughts of the movie:

I’ll start with the biggest concern I was hearing about… the worry regarding Disney having produced this movie.  Yes, you can probably tell what influence Disney had on it.  The “alien dog” in the movie is definitely something that Disney influenced as he’s playful and adds a lot of comic relief to the movie.  It’s a great character though, despite the Disney influence.  Additionally, there are quite a few light jokes throughout, which didn’t seem to take away from the movie, but rather helped keep things light-hearted a bit as some of the scenes got a bit serious.  I didn’t think that the stuff Disney probably was mostly involved with took away from the movie though, so hopefully you Disney haters out there can overlook that aspect of the movie.  🙂

Throughout the movie, I was getting a lot of Deja vu feelings as many things reminded me of the Star Wars movies.  The flight machines being used in the movie seemed  a LOT like the Pod Racers… the aliens themselves looked a lot like Jar Jar Binks (though MAJORLY less annoying!!!)… and other little things throughout.  Again, this didn’t take away from the movie, just something I noticed as I was watching.  Not sure if it was an intentional thing or not.

This could definitely be considered a family movie, though a few of the fight scenes might disturb very young children.  (not that it stopped the few people tonight that brought crying babies with them *grumble grumble*)  Overall, there is something for MOST all ages in the movie.  If you like 3D movies, DEFINITELY go see it.  This was probably the best 3D movie I’ve seen in a long time.  It fully utilized everything that 3D has to offer.  It’s visually stunning throughout and the fight scenes have you feeling like you are right there with everyone.

My only complaint was there was a part maybe 45-60 minutes into the movie that seemed a little slow, but I was also running on about five hours of sleep so it could’ve been that I was just tired and having trouble focusing.  Other than that, I had a fun time with this movie and hope all of you out there that go see it enjoy it as well.

Oh… and ladies… yes, Taylor Kitsch, is VERY nice eye candy!  *drool*  There were even scenes where I found myself comparing his image to some of Johnny Depp’s in various movies.  And on a non-guy front… I absolutely LOVED the wedding dress of the lead girl, Lynn Collins.

One last thing… as I wasn’t familiar with the books before.  This movie is actually based off of a series of books by Edgar Rice Burroughs.  You can buy the first five of the series for Kindle for just $0.99 so you might want to check that out as well if you do decide to see the movie, whether before or after.

2 Responses to “Movie Review: John Carter”

  1. Cindi March 7, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    So it wasn’t too cutesy. That’s good. I hope they have a 2 D version available. You know 3D makes me nauseated.

    • sanddanz March 7, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

      Definitely not TOO cutesy, no. There were things throughout, but it wasn’t overbearing at all nor did I feel it took away from the movie.

      I believe most everything is done in 2D as well when it’s in 3D. Craig has trouble with the 3D as well as it gives him migraines.

Leave a Reply

