Approach to Reading

22 Mar

Was just thinking about the fact that it seems I do a bit more reading nowadays with the whole e-book world out there.  I still don’t get nearly as much read as I’d like given how many books are waiting for me on Mt. TBR.  I just hope that there will be a way to take them all with me when I leave this world one day.  🙂  At any rate,  I now read 3 different ways…

1 – Print Books (the old-fashioned way) – this is actually my least favorite method of reading nowadays, but it is still nice to occasionally pick up a print book.  And since some of my review books I receive are in print rather than electronic format, I don’t have a choice.

2 – Electronic Books via my Kindle Fire – My favorite method of reading ’cause I *SO* love my Kindle Fire!!!  On there I have access to almost 2,000 books I’ve gotten from Amazon (most for free as there are so many generous authors out there) plus I have put all of my waiting-to-be-read review books on there and some other books that I want to read sooner rather than later.  I read on this as much as possible as I especially like that I can read in the dark in bed at night without a reading light of any kind.  In addition to reading on it, I also can check my email, facebook, play words with friends, etc… on there so it’s a handy all-in-one tool for me whenever I’m anywhere with wi-fi accessibility.  🙂

3 – Electronic Books via my Droid RAZR Phone – Yes, despite now having the Kindle Fire I do still read on my phone.  I know I’m bad in doing so, but I do read some while driving… especially at stop lights and such.  *grin*  I can usually get in a short story or a chapter or two between work and home each day by doing so and I do hate losing reading time.  Also, the phone is easy to have with me no matter where I go since it’s small and light, plus it’s ALWAYS with me anyway.

So what about you?  How do you like to read?  What formats do you read in?  I know that some people hate the idea of e-books and I’m not trying to start any kind of bashing war here.  We all have our preferences on how we do things so I’m just curious of your own preferences.  🙂

The other thing I wanted to talk about here is picking your next read.  Since I read in three formats as I mentioned above, I am typically in the middle of three books.  I tend to read shorter stuff on my phone, typically short story collections and novellas.  But as for exactly what I choose to read, I just go for what strikes my fancy at the time.  I know that I should probably read the review books I get in the order they come in, but if I did so I’d either be reading a LOT slower or end up giving more negative reviews due to reading books that I really am not in the mood for.

How do you decide what to read next?

If you look over to the right of my blog you should be able to see my current reads via the GoodReads widget I have plugged in there.  In case it’s not working however, my current reads are as follows:

In Print:

Image

On my Kindle Fire:

On my Droid RAZR:

 What are you reading?

6 Responses to “Approach to Reading”

  1. Michelle M. March 22, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Mostly I read on my Kindle Touch these days. I got mine for xmas and I LOVE IT. I haven’t given up all my print books, but I’ve only read 2 print books since I got my Kindle. I pick my next read just by the way I feel. I’m just getting into the reviewing thing, and I feel guilty when I have a review book, but skip it to read something I just WANT to read. But I do it anyway, cause reading is not a job, it’s a pleasure and I’m not gonna force myself to read a book on someone else’s time. I always make sure to tell the author that I don’t review on a deadline and if they have one they should pick a different reviewer. So far, that’s been okay with authors.

    • sanddanz March 22, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      I’m the same way on the guilt factor when it comes to reading a non-review book, but if I had to review EVERY book I read with an “official” review I’d grow to hate reviewing. I already have to get in the mood to write them up. I enjoy doing so, just not always in the writer-ly mood. 🙂

  2. Michele Lee March 22, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    I used to be unable to read more than one book at a time. Now that’s completely changed. I’m usually reading one print fiction book, one print nonfiction book and one ebook anthology/collection. Sometimes I switch the format of the antho and fiction book (it depends on what I have in my review list).

    I prefer ebooks lots too. I like to read ebooks first, then if I think they’re a forever book that I want to keep and show people and try to get signed I want the print copy. (Recently I’ve also started writing in nonfiction research books, like in textbooks, highlighting important bits or whatnot.) the only reason I’m not doing this is because I buy a lot of books second hand now, and that makes them cheaper than ebooks (and I can still keep them as long as I like–no download limits.) The number 2 reason is I’m totally not comfy taking an ereader into the bath with me, and that’s where I do lots of reading for fun.

    • sanddanz March 22, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Download limits on e-books? I haven’t ever really noticed that except for galley copies. Are certain sites doing that?

      I’ve never been able to read in the bathtub. One, I can’t get very comfortable in there for some reason, and two, if I do try, I usually start sweating so quickly that I can’t stand to stay in there more than 5-10 minutes. I stick with my showers, which are fast, so that I can get back to my book quickly. 🙂

  3. Kirsten March 22, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    I get frustrated with the stupid ereader because it constantly seems to be running out of battery life. It’s convenient when it works though. But I have switched to reading most genre fiction on either it or my phone (I have a Kindle and a nook app on there because it just stacks up and there isn’t room for it if I buy it, but I can’t stand paying trade price or higher for an ebook when secondhand is so much cheaper).

    • sanddanz March 22, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      What kind of e-reader do you have Kirsten? I don’t have a lot of problems with the battery on my Kindle Fire, though if the wi-fi is on and I’m not in a wi-fi area it will drain it quite a bit. Usually my phone battery drains faster, so I use it less now for that reason.

Leave a Reply

