2013 Brings Changes To My Book Reviewing

2 Jan

As most of you know, I’ve been reviewing for Monster Librarian for the past several years.  For the last year or so I’ve really fallen behind on writing up reviews.  It seemed like I could read a ton of review books, but then I’d put off writing the review, even as long as a year later.  At that point I barely remembered what the book was about and practically had to re-read the book to be able to write the review.  I know, I know, I should’ve taken notes and/or wrote the review immediately upon finishing the book, but with the stresses of work and every day problems, I just didn’t always have the energy to do it immediately.  And then, of course, there was the “I’ll do it tomorrow” problem and as everyone knows, tomorrow never comes.  So… after a LOT of thinking and I do mean a LOT… I’ve decided to give up my reviewing gig with ML.  However, I will still be doing some reviewing.  I know several publishers/authors have sent me books directly to review and those reviews will be going up here on my blog (and most likely cross-posted to Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, and GoodReads), though I’m not sure of the exact time frame.  I have a lot of non-review books I’ve been wanting to catch up on so I will be mixing them into my pile as well.  Some of the non-review books might get a quick mention/blurb on this blog, but I will definitely be writing up reviews of the books that have been requested of me.  This might only be one or two a month and if I really don’t care for a review book, it might never get a mention (however that is a rarity for me as I can usually find something to like in all books).  I already have a few reviews to work on posting up here, but I need to get into my New Year groove with working out, housecleaning, etc… as I’ve made several goals for myself  So, I ask of all publishers/authors to please be patient with me as I do want to read & review your books, I just need to limit the stress behind it a bit.  

Yes, I am still accepting review books, but I am limiting what all I take in.  If you would like to submit a book for review, please contact me at my email:  sanddanz at gmail dot com.  I’m not promising a review, but I’ll see how the review pile stands at that point.  

I really hope everyone understands the reasons I’m backing off of things and also appreciate the patience those have shown in the past for my delay in writing up reviews.  I truly am not a flake, but I will be the first to admit that I took on a bit more than I could chew. So… with the new year, I’ve just decided to try to make things a bit more manageable.

Thanks again to all publishers & authors for their contributions and be sure to check back as your review(s) might be the next thing published here.

Happy New Year!

2 Responses to “2013 Brings Changes To My Book Reviewing”

  1. Kate Douglas January 2, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    It’s never easy to admit that sometimes you just need to back off and accept the fact that yes, you DO need a life! Trust me on this one–I understand completely. This was my first Christmas in seven years without a book due in January or February. I think I like it. A lot. Have actually relaxed and enjoyed the holiday. Try it, kiddo. You can do it!

    • sanddanz January 2, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

      Thanks Kate… that means a lot! I probably should’ve done this a year ago, but I kept thinking things would calm down some. Obviously that didn’t happen. So… this is my attempt at a solution, hopefully it works out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

